LIHEAP

Picture5

PENOBSCOT NATION 2018-2019 LOW-INCOME HOME ENERGY ASSISTANCE PROGRAM (LIHEAP)

In addition to Indian Island, the service area includes certain Penobscot households in the following municipalities: Alton, Argyle, Bradley, Costigan, Milford, Old Town, and Orono. If you live in the areas, you may be eligible to apply through PIN-LIHEAP. Please contact the Social Services at 817-3165 for more information.

Please take notice of the following LIHEAP documents in this flyer that are needed to apply for your heating needs. Due to problem that we have encountered, we will NOT be able to “front” any deliveries for you, nor will we be able to make promissory calls to your vendor on your behalf.

While filling out your LIHEAP application, please, be prepared to tell your intake worker how you will want your benefits split. Benefits will not change after you have been certified.

A household that is responsible for paying its electricity and has been found eligible for LIHEAP may also qualify for additional benefits through Emera Maine. This process is separate from LIHEAP but the application will be done at this time so you will need to provide a copy of your most recent electrical bill.

Application Schedule: The following is the application schedule for this program year. Unless otherwise indicated, applications will be taken at the Social Services Building 2 Down Street.

→ You will need: 1. Income Verifications 2. Most current light bill 3. Social Security numbers for all households 4. Date of Birth 5. Employment – back one full year from date of application, addresses, phone numbers, dates & pay stubs.

Applications will be taken at the Senior Meals Site only on October 1, 2, 3, & 4.

♦ Applications shall be taken from elderly households as follows:
Monday, October 1, 2018: 10:00 a.m. - 11:00 a.m.
Tuesday, October 2, 2018: 10:00 a.m. - 11:00 a.m.
Wednesday, October 3, 2018: 1:00 p.m. - 3:00 p.m.
Thursday, October 4, 2018: 8:30 a.m. - 11:30 a.m.

♦ Applications shall be taken from households with special needs members and households with children age two (2) or younger as follows:
Monday, October 8, 2018: 8:30 a.m. - 11:30 a.m.
Tuesday, October 9, 2018: 1:30 p.m. - 3:30 p.m.
Wednesday, October 10, 2018: 1:30 p.m. - 3:30 p.m.
Thursday, October 11, 2018: 8:30 a.m. - 11:30 a.m.

♦ Applications shall be taken from all segments of the service population as follows:
Monday, October 15, 2018: 8:30 a.m. - 11:30 a.m.
Tuesday, October 16, 2018: 4:00 p.m. - 6:00 p.m.
Wednesday, October 17, 2018: 1:30 p.m. - 3:30 p.m.
Thursday, October 18, 2018: 8:30 a.m. - 11:30 a.m.
Monday, October 22, 2018: 1:30 p.m. - 3:30 p.m.
Tuesday, October 23, 2018: 1:30 p.m. - 3:30 p.m.
Wednesday, October 24, 2018: 4:00 p.m. - 6:00 p.m.
Thursday, October 25, 2018: 8:30 a.m. - 11:30 a.m.

Thereafter, applications will be taken by appointment only until Thursday, April 18, 2019. Under no circumstances will any appointments will be available after Thursday of April 18, 2019.